Mississippi Car Seat Laws in 2021

In Mississippi law, a child under four years old must be in a child passenger restraint device or system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards when being transported in a passenger motor vehicle operated on Mississippi’s public roadways, streets, or highways.

A child between four and six years old and measuring less than 4’9” or weighing less than 65 pounds must be in a properly used belt positioning booster seat system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards when being transported in a passenger motor vehicle operated on Mississippi’s public roadways, streets, or highways.

A child between four and six years old and measuring at least 4’9” and weighing at least 65 pounds must wear a properly fastened safety belt seat system installed in the vehicle when manufactured as required by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208 when being transported as a passenger in a motor vehicle operated in forward motion on a public road, street, or highway in Mississippi.

A child between the ages of seven and seventeen years old must wear a properly fastened safety belt seat system installed in the vehicle when manufactured as required by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208 when being transported as a passenger in a motor vehicle operated in forward motion on a public road, street, or highway in Mississippi.

A passenger motor vehicle is defined as a motor vehicle designed to carry fifteen or fewer passengers, including the driver.

Babies and Children Up to Three Years Old

A child under four years old must be protected while being transported in a passenger motor vehicle operated on a public roadway, street, or highway within Mississippi by the proper use of a child passenger restraint device or system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards.

Children Four to Six Years Old and Under 4’9” or Under 65 Pounds

A child between the ages of four and six years old and measuring less than 4’9” in height
or weighing less than 65 pounds must be protected while being transported in a passenger motor
vehicle operated on a public roadway, street, or highway within Mississippi by the proper use of a belt positioning booster seat system which meets applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards.

Children Four to Six Years Old and At Least 4’9” and 65 Pounds

A child between the ages of four and six years old, measuring at least 4’9” in height, and weighing at least 65 pounds must wear a properly fastened safety belt seat system installed in the vehicle when manufactured as required by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208 when being transported as a passenger in a motor vehicle operated in forward motion on a public road, street, or highway in Mississippi.

Children Seven to Seventeen Years Old

A child between the ages of seven and seventeen years old must wear a properly fastened safety belt seat system installed in the vehicle when manufactured as required by Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208 when being transported as a passenger in a motor vehicle operated in forward motion on a public road, street, or highway in Mississippi.

Penalties for Violations

You may be fined $25.00 for a first violation of Mississippi’s child passenger restraint law. If you prove that you have acquired a child passenger restraint device or system, your charge may be dismissed. You may be fined $25.00 for a violation of Mississippi’s safety belt seat system law.

Exemptions

Your child may be exempt from Mississippi’s child passenger restraint law if you are transporting more than two children who are required to use a booster seat in a vehicle at one time, the vehicle has only two lap and shoulder belts in the rear seat, and any other children are secured with a safety seat lap belt.

Your child may be exempt from Mississippi’s safety belt seat system law when being transported on a motorcycle, moped, all-terrain vehicle, or trailer; in a vehicle registered for farm use; on a bus; or in a passenger car operated by a United States Postal Service rural letter carrier or a utility meter reader.

Your child may be exempt from Mississippi’s safety belt seat system law if he or she has written verification from a licensed physician that he or she is unable to wear a safety belt system for medical reasons.

* Ms. Blake is licensed in the state of Maryland. The information provided in this article does not constitute legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship.


Attorney Denise A. Blake*

Denise practices family law at Blake Law, LLC in Westminster, Maryland. She holds a Juris Doctor with an emphasis in Family Law from the University of Baltimore School of Law.